Halal is a Quranic term, which means permitted, allowed or lawful or legal. In relation to food or drink it means that the food or drink is lawful, permitted or allowed for Muslims' comsumption by Allah-the Supreme Law Giver. Eating Halal is obligatory on every Muslim as the Holy Quran, Allah commands.
For a food or drink to be described as Halal, it must conform to the Islamic dietary laws as specified in the Qur'an, the Hadith (sayings of the Prophet Muhammad,Peace and blessing of Allah be upon him), his Sunnah (tradition), and in the fiqh (teachings or jurisprudence) The classification of food products as Halal is a very serious religious matter.
By official definition, Halal foods are those that are :
The following products are definitely Halal :
1. Milk (from cows, sheep, and goats).
4. Plants which are not intoxicant.
5. Fresh or naturally frozen vegetables,Fresh or dried fruits.
6. Legumes and nuts like peanuts, cashew nuts, hazel nuts, walnuts, etc.
7. Grains such as wheat, rice, rye, barley, oat, etc.
Animals such as cows, sheep, goats, deer, moose, chickens, ducks, game birds, etc., are also Halal, but they must be Zabihah (slaughtered according to Islamic Rites) in order to be suitable for consumption.
Information By : halalthailand.com